Washi Tape Greeting Cards

Anybody else realize they need a card to go with their gift an hour before a birthday party? Wish you could send a quick “thinking about you” note to a friend but don’t have any cute stationery on hand? Today’s post is all about quick, easy cards with washi tape.

Washi Display.jpg

Now, if anybody else is like me, you see a cute package of washi tape and buy it, even if you don’t know what to use it on. I have found a solution to our problem.  The washi tape I will be featuring today is from Hobby Lobby. It’s retail value is $12.99. But let’s be honest, nobody pays full price for an item at Hobby Lobby when they know they can use a 40% off coupon.

Now let’s put that washi to use!

washi-three-layer-simple

thinking-of-you

This first card is very simple. Take your 3 favorite coordinating washi tape patterns and stack them on top of each other. This will create a sleek detail on the front of the card. On the inside, create this same stacked effect on one corner of the card. If you wish to add a sentiment, you can use stickers or vinyl. I used the font Kristen ITC with white vinyl.

celebrate-red-white-blue

My next U.S.A. inspired creation uses 2 coordinating washi tape patterns. Alternate directions as you apply the washi on the front of the card. Then, cut out a simple shape from a complementing color. Obviously I had to use a white star to go along with my red and blue washi. Finally, I topped the card off with a simple one-word sentiment with the font Bromello. I use this font all the time! It is definitely one to add to your collection.

happy-birthday-card

Finally, my personal favorite, helped me out in crunch time when I needed that quick birthday card. The best part is, nobody will guess you made this card in under 10 minutes! Find some cute colored embroidery thread or bakers twine. Add some washi flag pennants to the thread. You could make different shaped pennants, depending what you want the end result to look like. Once the thread is filled up with pennants, poke a small hole on each side of the card to tie the edges to. To finish the card, I added “Happy Birthday” using lime green vinyl and Watermelon Script font.

If you recreate any of these cards, be sure to tag me on social media. I would love to see how you are able to change up these simple designs! Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

